Criminal Defense

Criminal Defense Practice Areas




We have been defending the rights of our clients throughout the Detroit Metropolitan Area for many years. Whether it is felonies or misdemeanors, trials, show causes or violations of probation, we always give our all to help our clients navigate the intricacies of the legal system.

Our local courts are tougher than ever on all those who violate any aspect of the criminal law. Regardless of whether it is a first drunk driving in Troy or a felony in Sterling Heights, a misdemeanor in Royal Oak or Rochester Hills, you need help from someone that knows the system and is well respected from prosecutors, judges and law enforcement officials.

Call us today. We'll take care of you.

(248) 649-1000

Send Us An Email

    Drunk Driving

    Drunk Driving laws in Michigan carry tough consequences the individual. A first-time offender convicted of drunk driving faces:

    Up to 93 days in jail

    Up to a $500 fine

    Up to 360 hours of community service.

    Up to 6 points on a driver's license.

    Up to 180 days with a suspended license, with a restricted license possible after 30 days.

    Convicted drunk drivers will also be subject to a new $1,000 penalty that is included in a recently approved driver responsibility program. The $1,000 penalty will be imposed by the Secretary of State for two consecutive years. Drivers may still be arrested and charged with impaired driving, however, the law no longer has a blood alcohol content associated with impaired. Those convicted of impaired driving face an additional $500 penalty assessed for two consecutive years.

    Drunk Driving With High Blood Alcohol Content

    In October of 2011 the Michigan Legislature passed a new, tougher, law for those who are convicted of a Drunk Driving with a BAC of .17 or higher. The consequences are servere as a person could receive:

    Up to 180 days in jail.

    A fine of at least $200 but not more than $700.

    Up to 360 hours of community service.

    One year license suspension.*

    *The Secretary of State may issue a restricted license 45 days after the suspension starts if the person is otherwise eligible. Proof of installation of an ignition interlock device is required before a restricted license will be issued.

    A restricted license will permit the individual to operate a vehicle equipped with an ignition interlock device under the following circumstances:

    To and from residence and employment, and during employment;

    To and from alcohol or drug education or treatment program;

    To and from regularly scheduled treatment for serious medical condition;

    To and from probation, community service and school.